A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Blog Today

I have had this blog since about 2003 – the entries don’t date back that far thanks to a powerful mood swing that included too much wine and over zealous use of the delete key. But it’s been here, puttering along getting almost no notice. And that’s cool. Really. It is.

I am not a brand. This is a hobby, not a source of revenue. I don’t get product review offers. I don’t do product reviews (unless of course your product involves the word Nikon or Vivian Tam Netbook in which case I stand ready to be your product placement pushing whore). I don’t go to conferences and have rarely met other bloggers in person. Not that I don’t want to meet anyone it’s just there’s not a lot of time in my schedule to do that sort of thing right now. Maybe one day.

So there, that’s my state-of-the-blog statement.

Lately there’s been a lot of argument talk about the state of blogging – it seems to be tied up in the labeling of bloggers but mostly it seems to really be about the content. I’ve occasionally left comments here and there about how I could care less about the label, I just miss having good stories – and want to stop being sold to at every turn.

So there, that’s my state-of-the-blogosphere statement.

So of course you know what happens next right….

For the first time in 7 years, in a span of 3 days, I’ve received 2 offers to review something. LOL. Never got a single one before and all of sudden two in one week! I can’t help but wonder if it has something to do with those comments. Are they combing them trying to find new people to push products? How is it suddenly out of no where these sorts of things are coming my way? It’s not the blog because it’s been in sad shape of late.

I have to say both were very nice, polite, respectful offers. Not the crap you hear about some people getting addressed to Dear Blog.

One is for a product we already own, and I have to admit has not been that popular. I know other families who have loved this product and I bought it based on personal recommendations of people I trust – it just hasn’t been great for us. In fact I tried it again today to see if things have changed. Not. But I know for a fact that two doors down it’s a smash hit.

The second was for something I’ve never heard of but am intrigued by because it’s supposed to fix a problem I definitely have.Something I’ve been trying to find a solution for.

So here I stand on the top of a pile of comments and principles – looking down at the slippery slope. Like a future crack addict I tell myself – you could just do one time. One time won’t hurt.

Honestly I’d feel bad doing the first because I know too much about it and how it hasn’t worked for us. It just would not be right.

The second though… she’s a temptation that I haven’t said no to, yet. I rationalize that I could use it as an example for why not to do reviews when it has little to no impact on the blog (which it won’t I’m sure) (Great Movie Quote,: The Big Chill – Michael played by the recently undead Jeff Goldbloom: Rationalizations are more important than sex. Have you ever gone a week without a rationalization?)

So the 7 of you who read this blog, what do you think? High minded road less taken principles? Or just a quick toke of the latest doob being passed around in hopes that nothing happens?

1 Comment

Filed under It's All About Me

One response to “A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Blog Today

  1. I think you should do what you want to do. It’s your blog.

Leave a Reply

