Proposed name for iphone 4 chapter of the Apple Book: Shattered Glass

DSC_4772

Last night my 5 year old accidently bumped my iphone off the counter by the sink in the bathroom – a typical household accident. This is the result. The glass back on the phone is completely shattered.

Several deep breaths and a small panic attack later, the two of us headed off to the Apple store  – me to beg, her to look cute and pitifully sad.

Much to my surprise the “Genius” looked at it and simply said “Oh no, another one. I’ll check to see if we have the replacement parts left of I’ll need to order them for you.”

She came back and said they were out. She would order them and they’d be in again in about 3 days and the repair would cost…. wait for it….. $31.00 (with tax)

What?!!? That’s less than the cost of the case that you (Apple) have as yet to send me!

Not that I’m not grateful but seriously!? Since when does anything at the Apple store cost $31.00? I quickly signed on the dotted line in agreement.

Before I left I asked if I needed to worry about the glass falling out, she said no but that it did have sharp edges and I should careful when handling it. She said they didn’t have still did not have cases in stock but that there was a kiosk cart down the mall that had some if I wanted to go get a case to keep the sharp edges and glass chips contained. Umm yeah.

Off I went. When I got home I started Googling and found that shattered back glass has been an ongoing problem pretty much since the launch of the phone but that the antenna story had overshadowed it. Since Apple has been quietly and inexpensively been repairing them no one has raised a ruckus over the fragile back glass.  Even more interesting is that they seem to be correcting both issues in the Verizon version still rumored to come out in 2011, it’s supposed to have a forged metal back that has an integrated antennae.

So I’m choosing to look at the whole thing this way  … Collector’s Edition!

**Edited Update*** – When the new glass for the back came in and I went in to get them to fix it – it took 5 minutes tops – seriously when did the Apple Store get efficient? And they didn’t charge me at all! Seriously $0.00!

Leave a comment

Filed under It's All About Me

Leave a Reply

